Uploaded Ad
FSG for Landing Page
The Mocs women's golf team won the 2012 Team of the Year and are up for the award again at this year's Scrappys.
Courtesy: Dale Rutemeyer
Mocs Announce Scrappy Nominations

We are just over a week away from the 2013 Scrappy Awards, set for Thursday, April 11, at the Chattanoogan Hotel.  Behind the scenes production is in full swing and the ballots are in from the student-athletes. 

There are 14 awards up for grabs at this year’s Scrappys.  These awards encompass the 2012 spring season though the 2013 winter campaign.  UTC’s 317 student-athletes voted on the awards last week and the winners will each get a Scrappy on April 11. 

Reservations are still being accepted, with the deadline extended to Friday, April 5.  Last year’s inaugural event was a huge success, and space is filling up fast.  It is open to all Mocs fans, so get your seat today

And the nominees are:

Rookie of the Year  Top Freshman at UTC
Kaylene Chadwell Women's Tennis
Jacob Huesman Football
Gee McGhee Men's Basketball
Hannah Wyatt Soccer
Trevor Janssen Cross Country
Taylor Deason Softball


Behind the Scenes Award  Given to a staff member or volunteer.
Jeff Andrews Athletic Performance
Gayle Cunningham Tutor
Dale Rutemeyer Photographer
Lisa Wilcox Student Support Services


Comeback Award Best comeback in a game or return from injury.  
Faith Dupree Women's Basketball Returned from knee injury.
Men's Basketball   Men's Basketball – 19-point comeback in the final 6:36 seconds to beat Appalachian State on Jan. 17, 2013.
Volleyball   Comeback win over UNCG after trailing 2-0 on Nov. 2, 2012.
Lucas Cotter Cross Country Did not run all season until SoCon championship and led team to 2nd place finish while earning all-conference honors.
Women's Golf   Down 22 shots before winning 2012 SoCon Championship.
Women's Basketball   Down 11 in the second half against Davidson before winning SoCon Tournament Championship. 


Individual Performance of the Year    
Jordan Britt Women's Golf 2012 Southern Conference Individual Champion. 
Taylor Hall Women's Basketball 24 points, 9 rebounds, 5 assists, 4 steals, 3 blocks to lead the Lady Mocs to a historic win over Tennessee on Nov. 9, 2012.
Dontay Hampton  Men's Basketball 22 points in comeback win over Appalachian State on Jan. 17, 2013.
Jacob Huesman Football 288 yards of total offense, including 170 rushing, 102 passing, 16 receiving and 3 TDs against No. 2 Georgia Southern. 
Stephan Jaeger  Men's Golf 2012 NCAA Regional Champion.


Student Fan of the Year  
Charles Robert Marcinski Men's and Women's Basketball Superfan.
Josh Modjeski Frost Fanatic Softball Superfan.
Ryan Van Winkle Tennis Supporter.


Victory of the Year
Women's Basketball defeats No. 20 Tennessee (80-71) on Nov. 9, 2012.
Women's Golf wins the 2012 Southern Conference Championship.
Men's Golf wins the 2012 Bowling Green NCAA Regional Championship. 
Wrestling dominates the 2013 Southern Conference Tournament Championship.


Professor of the Year  
Dr. Cheryl Robinson Early Childhood Development
Dr. Gretchen Potts Chemistry
Dr. Robert C. Mebane Chemistry
Dr. Roland Carter Music


Play of the Year    
Kendrix Huitt Football 74 yard Touchdown run against Western Carolina on Nov. 3, 2012.
Terrell Robinson Football Touchdown scramble against The Citadel on Sept. 29, 2012.
Chris Smith Men's Tennis Ace to clinch a 4-3 win over UNCG on March 11, 2012.
Paula Passmore Volleyball Dives into first row of bleachers to save ball and UTC wins the point vs. UNCG on Nov. 2, 2012.
Davis Bunn Men's Golf Hole-in-One at the 2012 NCAA Regional Championship.
Kayla Christopher Women's Basketball Rebound and put back to defeat Davidson at SoCon Tournament on March 11, 2013. 


Fan of the Year  
Chattahooligans Lady Mocs Soccer Fans.
David Martin Member of the GOLD Alumni Board who has helped recruit new young Mocs Club members.
Joe & Barbara Waters Longtime fans and supporters of Chattanooga Athletics.


Coach of the Year  
Mark Guhne 2012 Men's Golf SoCon Coach of the Year
Colette Murray 2012 Women’s Golf SoCon Champion
Heath Eslinger 2013 Wrestling SoCon Coach of the Year
Wes Moore 2013 Women's Basketball SoCon Coach of the Year


Male Student-Athlete of the Year    
Stephan Jaeger Men's Golf All-American – 2012 NCAA Regional Champion - 2012 SoCon Golfer of the Year – 2012 SoCon Individual Champion. 
Davis Tull Football All-American – 2012 SoCon Defensive Player of the Year.
Lucas Cotter Cross Country Second-Team All-Southern Conference.   
Niko Brown Wrestling SoCon Champion at 197 pounds. 


Female Student-Athlete of the Year    
Jordan Britt Women's Golf 2012 SoCon Individual Champion. 
Ashlen Dewart Women's Basketball 2013 SoCon Tournament MVP. 
Michelle Fuzzard Softball All-American – 2012 SoCon Female Athlete of the Year – 2012 SoCon Softball Player of the Year.
Jenna Nurik Women's Tennis First Team All-SoCon.
Paula Passmore Volleyball 2012 SoCon Volleyball Libero of the Year.   


Scholar Athlete of the Year    
Stephan Jaeger Men's Golf 2012 Dayle May Award Winner.
Maria Juliana Loza Women's Golf 2012 Dayle May Award Winner.
Christina Teter Volleyball 2012 Capital One Academic All-American
Irvin Hernandez Football SoCon Commissioner's Medal.
Adam Miller Football FCS ADA Academic All-Star Team.
Morgan Buchanan Cross Country 2013 Dayle May Award Winner.

Tickets are $50 per person and available on GoMocs.com or by calling the UTC Ticket Office at (423) 266-MOCS (6627). For more information on this event, please contact Ryan Lowe, Assistant Director of the Mocs Club, at (423) 425-5866 or via email at Ryan-Lowe@utc.edu.

          Live Stats
          Rss Feed
Upcoming Live Events on MocsVision