Uploaded Ad
FSG for Landing Page
Mocs Announce Athletics Hall of Fame Class of 2010
Cos DeMatteo set an NCAA record with six TD catches against Mississippi Valley State on Sept. 16, 2000.
Courtesy: GoMocs.com

The University of Tennessee at Chattanooga will induct the Class of 2010 into the Athletics Hall of Fame on Friday, Feb. 11, at the Chattanooga Golf and Country Club.  The five-member group includes Cos DeMatteo (football), Jennifer Wilson Galloway (women's basketball), Jason Ontog (men's tennis), Chris Sanders (football) and Stanford Strickland (men's basketball).

The banquet is open to the public to attend but seating is limited and reservations are required. The cost is $25.00 per person which includes dinner. Payments and RSVP's can be submitted to the UTC Alumni Office.  For more information, email Christine-Lee@utc.edu.

The UTC Athletics Hall of Fame was established to formally recognize outstanding contributions to the heritage and tradition of the university's intercollegiate athletic program.  A total of 177 individuals have been inducted into the UTC Athletics Hall of Fame during special ceremonies held each year.

Below is a brief biography on each member of the 2010 class.  Be sure to check back to GoMocs.com over the next week for a more in-depth look at each inductee, as well as photos from their days as a student-athlete at Chattanooga. 

Aaron "Cos" DeMatteo
Football - 1998-01
Aaron "Cos" DeMatteo was a two-time honorable mention All-American receiver for the Mocs.  He was one of the most exciting playmakers in the Southern Conference during his days on the field from 1998 to 2001.  A major part of the "Air Raid" era of Chattanooga football, DeMatteo ranks in the top-5 in career receiving yards (2,092), receptions (166) and touchdown catches at UTC (23).

DeMatteo had one of the most memorable games in Chattanooga football history on Sept. 16, 2000. He set an NCAA record that still stands today with six touchdown catches in a 72-17 win over Mississippi Valley State at Finley Stadium.  A two-time All-Southern Conference selection, DeMatteo is UTC's single-season record holder with 11 touchdown receptions in both 1999 and 2000.

Jennifer Wilson Galloway
Women's Basketball - 2000-03
Jennifer Wilson Galloway was Wes Moore's first marquis recruit to the Lady Mocs basketball team. She helped spawn one of the greatest turnarounds in NCAA women's basketball history taking the Lady Mocs from "worst to first" as a four-year letter winner from 2000-03.

As a senior, Jennifer was named the Southern Conference Female Athlete of the Year after leading Chattanooga to a fourth straight SoCon title and a third consecutive NCAA Tournament appearance.  Jennifer was a three-time All-SoCon performer and named to the 2000 SoCon All-Freshman team. She is a member of the Lady Mocs 1,000-Point Club with 1,271 career points.

Jason Ontog
Men's Tennis - 2000-03
Jason Ontog is one of the most decorated student-athletes in the storied history of Chattanooga Tennis. He was the 2000 Southern Conference Freshman of the Year and followed that up with player of the

year honors in 2001.

A four-time All-SoCon honoree in singles play from 2000-03, Ontog was also a three-time All-SoCon performer in doubles action. He was the last men's tennis player to receive a national ranking, climbing as high as No. 67 in 2003.

Chris Sanders
Football - 1999-00
Despite only playing two seasons at UTC, Chris Sanders left a long-lasting impression on the Chattanooga Football record books. A two-time All-American, he holds nearly every passing record in school history and defined the "Air Raid" era of Mocs Football.

Sanders is the only Moc to throw for 3,000 yards in a season, and he did it twice. He is also the only UTC player to amass 7,000 passing yards in a career, finishing with 7,230. His 49 career touchdown passes are also a school record. In 2003, he earned a spot on the Chattanooga Football All-Century team.

Stanford Strickland
Men's Basketball - 1981-84
Chattanooga native Stanford Strickland joined the Mocs basketball program at the start of its championship run in 1980-81. He was a part of a recruiting class that included all-time leading scorer Willie White, fellow hall of famers Nick Morken and Russ Schoene, along with key contributor Chris McCray.

The 6'6" power forward was a fan favorite due to his hard-working, blue-collar style of play. He accumulated 1,153 points, 528 rebounds and 94 steals in his career, starting every game (61) of his junior and senior years. Strickland is UTC's all-time leader for free throws made with 401. His 540 attempts ranks No. 2 behind Nicchaeus Doaks (2006-09). He's seventh in scoring and rebounding for the Mocs.

Special Award Winners
There are three special awards given out by the UTC Athletics Hall of Fame committee each year, including the Gordon Davenport Award, the Joe Morrison Award and the A.C. "Scrappy" Moore Award. 

The Gordon Davenport Award is given annually by the UTC Athletics Hall of Fame to a person who has shown outstanding commitment to the Chattanooga Mocs athletics program. This year's recipient of the Gordon Davenport Award is Brenda Lawson, the namesake of the recently opened Brenda Lawson Student-Athlete Success Center. 

The Joe Morrison Award is given annually by the UTC Athletics Hall of Fame to a former student-athlete

or coach for notable accomplishments and life experiences. This year's recipient of the Joe Morrison Award is Dan Beery, an Olympic Gold Medalist and a former member of the UTC Crew Team.

The A.C. "Scrappy" Moore Award is presented to a current UTC student-athlete who best personifies the athletic department's mission of comprehensive excellence, academically, athletically and socially.  This year's recipient of the Scrappy Moore Award is women's tennis senior Grace Robinette

Be sure to check back to GoMocs.com this week for more information on each of the special award winners. 

          Live Stats
          Rss Feed
Upcoming Live Events on MocsVision