Uploaded Ad
FSG for Landing Page
Athletics Hall of Fame Class Inducted This Weekend
Beth Alexander Edgar
Courtesy: GoMocs.com

Chattanooga’s all-time softball strikeout leader, a two-time women’s tennis All-America, the school’s first All-Southern Conference men’s basketball player and a former Philadelphia Eagles running back make up the 2007 University of Tennessee at Chattanooga Athletics Hall of Fame induction class, the University announced Friday.


Softball pitcher Beth Alexander, running back Mike Hogan, tennis All-America Lori Massengill and men’s basketball player Eric Smith will be inducted into the Hall of Fame Friday at 6:30 p.m. at a dinner at the Chattanooga Golf and Country Club.


“We are excited to be able to bring these outstanding student-athletes back to campus and honor them as Hall of Famers,” UTC Director of Athletics Rick Hart said.  “They are certainly deserving of this recognition, and we have plans in place to make this one of the more special moments in their lives for both themselves and their families.”


Alexander set career softball records from 1999-2002 in wins (78), strikeouts (785), shutouts (33), games started (121), appearances (156) and innings pitched (757.1).  She ranks second in the school record books in earned run average (1.38), strikeouts per seven innings (7.26) and opponent batting average (.176).


Now Beth Edgar, she compiled a career pitching record of 78-36.  She earned Academic All-America status in 2002, was named Second-Team All-South Region in 2002, was voted Southern Conference Pitcher of the Year in 2001 and 2002 and was All-SoCon each of those years.


The Lady Mocs went 188-78 during her career, and she led the team to four SoCon regular-season titles, three SoCon Tournament Championships and three NCAA Regional trips.


Hogan was selected the football team’s Most Valuable Back in 1974 and 1975.  He ran for 1,909 yards during his career from 1972 to 1975, a total which ranks eighth in the program’s history.  He led the Mocs in rushing yards in 1972 and 1975.


Following Hogan’s career in which he played for Head Coaches Harold Wilkes and Joe Morrison, he was drafted by the Philadelphia Eagles of the National Football League in 1976 and spent five years in the NFL playing for the Eagles, the New York Giants and the San Francisco 49ers.




Massengill has the distinction of being one of only two Chattanooga student-athletes to play on three NCAA Championship teams.  During her career playing for Hall of Fame Head Coach Tommy Bartlett, the Lady Mocs won NCAA Division II national titles in 1983, 1984 and 1985.


A two-time All-America, she was the NCAA doubles runner-up in 1985.  Massengill was also a three-time SoCon Tournament singles and doubles champion, a three-time All-SoCon honoree and a member of the SoCon team champions in 1984, 1985 and 1986.  She was undefeated in all NCAA and SoCon postseason tournament matches.




Smith was the Mocs’ first-ever All-Southern Conference performer for men’s basketball in 1981.  As a senior, he led Chattanooga to the 1981 SoCon Championship and it’s first-ever NCAA Division I Tournament appearance.


Smith played for Head Coach Ron Shumate and Head Coach Murray Arnold.  He ranks eighth in career points (1,122), sixth in career field goals made (431) and ninth in career rebounds (498).  He led the Mocs in scoring in 1979-80 (13.0) and 1980-81 (16.4).



Receiving the Joe Morrison Award is former Head Golf Coach Reed Sanderlin.  Milly Fariss will be presented the Gordon Davenport Award, while current UTC softball player Tara Tembey will receive the A.C. “Scrappy” Moore Award.


The Morrison Award is given to the UTC constituent who has achieved notable life accomplishments.  Sanderlin served as the school’s men’s golf coach from 1977 to 2005.  As the head coach, he led the Mocs to the Southern Conference Tournament Championship in 1987, SoCon runner-up finishes in 1978 and 1989 and third-place finishes in 1984 and 1993.


Sanderlin was voted SoCon Coach of the Year in 1987.  He guided UTC’s first Southern Conference golf medalist, Donnie Green, in 1978 and has also coached four SoCon runners-up, Lee Gerdes and Chris Schmidt in 1987; Brian Millican in 1989 and James Van De Griff in 1997.




The Davenport Award is presented to an individual who has shown outstanding commitment to UTC Athletics.  Fariss has done so nearly her entire adult life.


A 1947 graduate of the University of Chattanooga, she has donated her time to the University for over 30 years.  Her volunteer duties at her alma mater can be traced back to 1946.  She has assisted the ticket office for many years, helping with annual mailings, ticket distribution and invoice preparation.  She has volunteered on numerous fundraising activities for the University Athletics fund drives, phone-a-thons and ticket sales.


Other than her athletics contributions, Fariss has generously devoted time and action to other areas within the University such as the student amphitheater, the commemorative bench program, the Centennial Fund, the Trisha Obear Endowment Fund, the Alumni Council Scholarship Endowment, the UTC Sugar Mocs and the Fifth-Plus Reunion giving program.




Tembey will receive the Scrappy Moore Award, given to the current student-athlete who demonstrates comprehensive excellence through academic and athletics achievement and community service.


A senior from Folsom, Calif., she was Second-Team All-Southern Conference in 2007 with a .277 batting average, seven home runs and 22 RBI.  She earned a 4.0 grade point average in the Fall 2007 semester and was a member of the Dean’s List.


A community-minded student-athlete, Tembey has run with her teammates in the Susan G. Komen Race for the Cure, sponsored a child from Head Start and participated in softball clinics for inner-city youths and the Read with Reed reading program.  She will work an internship with UTC’s strength and conditioning coaches this coming semester.


A member of the 2007-08 Student-Athlete Advisory Council, she is one of four student-athlete nominees to represent UTC at the National Student-Athlete Leadership Conference.




The Hall of Fame Class of 2007 and the three special award winners will also be honored at a halftime ceremony at Saturday’s men’s basketball game against Wofford.  Tipoff is at 7 p.m. in the McKenzie Arena.



          Live Stats
          Rss Feed
Upcoming Live Events on MocsVision