Uploaded Ad
FSG for Landing Page
Mocs Announce Class of 2009 Hall of Fame Inductees and Award Winners

The Chattanooga Athletics Department and the Office of Alumni Affairs announced the 2009 inductees into the University of Tennessee at Chattanooga Athletics Hall of Fame today.  This year's class includes Billie Abney (women's tennis), Troy Boeck (football), Allison DeVries Harr (softball), Guy Harris (wrestling), Gary Stich (men's basketball) and Kim Brown Suttles (women's basketball). 

Abney (1974-77) was an All-American member of the Mocs' first AIAW Small College National Championship women's tennis team in 1977.  Boeck (1987-90) was the 1990 Southern Conference Defensive Player of the Year on the gridiron, while DeVries (1996-99) was the 1999 SoCon Softball Player of the Year.  Harris (1989-93) was an All-American wrestler and two-time SoCon champ.  Stich (1974-77) was a starter on the Mocs' 1977 NCAA Division II National Championship squad while Brown (1987-90) was a four-time All-SoCon forward for the Lady Mocs. 

The Hall of Fame weekend begins Friday, Feb. 12, with the induction ceremony and dinner at the Chattanooga Golf and Country Club at 6:00 p.m. (E.S.T.).  Cost for the dinner is $25 per person and the dinner is open to all Mocs fans.  Reservations are required by Monday, Feb. 8.  To reserve your seat at the dinner, call the UTC Alumni Office at (423) 425-4785 or (800) 728-4882

Also honored at the dinner will be the Hall of Fame's annual award winners.  The Gordon Davenport Award, given to the individual who has shown outstanding commitment to UTC Athletics, will be presented to long-time Mocs supporter Joseph "Lewie" Card. 

Presented to the former UTC student-athlete or coach who has achieved notable life accomplishments, the Joe Morrison award will be given to former Chattanooga men's tennis and wrestling student-athlete Mike Parker.  Parker (197-73) was recently inducted into the National Wrestling Hall of Fame.   

Football standout Joseph Thornton is this year's recipient of the A.C. "Scrappy" Moore Award as the UTC student-athlete who best personifies comprehensive excellence - academically, athletically and socially.  Thornton was an All-SoCon linebacker and one of the leaders for the Mocs on the field, in the classroom and in the community, during his career. 

The Hall of Fame award winners and inductees will also be honored at halftime of the Mocs men's basketball game against Furman.  UTC takes on the Paladins on Saturday, Feb. 13, at 7:30 p.m.  The Lady Mocs are also in action on the 13th, taking on Appalachian State at 5:00 p.m. in the McKenzie Arena. 

Be sure to check back to GoMocs.com for features and photos of the Hall of Fame inductees and award winners leading up to the awards dinner.

          Live Stats
          Rss Feed
Upcoming Live Events on MocsVision