Eight Wrestlers Land on All-SoCon Team
CHATTANOOGA, Tenn. --- The wrestling team earned eight All-Southern Conference Wrestling honors after the season, a fact made even more remarkable because there are only 10 all-conference spots awarded.

The Mocs collected All-SoCon status at every weight position with the exception of 174 pounds and 197.

Leading the way was Matt Keller, voted the SoCon Wrestler of the Year. Keller earned his second straight All-SoCon label at 133 pounds after going undefeated in 14 dual matches and earning a national ranking as high as No. 2 during the season.

Michael Keefe is a three-time All-SoCon honoree at 141 pounds. Picking up their second consecutive All-SoCon mentions are Javier Maldonado and Jake Yost at 125 and 157 respectively. Maldonado and Yost were the only two on the squad to go 5-0 in SoCon duals.

First-time all-conference wrestlers include Aaron Martin (149), T.J. Sayers (165), Josh Edmondson (184) and Matt Koz (285). Keller, Martin and Edmondson each recorded 4-0 SoCon dual marks.

Joining the eight Mocs wrestlers on the list were UNC Greensboro’s Joe Lowe at 174 and VMI’s Corry Murray at 197.

The six Southern Conference coaches select the All-SoCon squad as well as the Wrestler of the Year. The coaches are not allowed to vote for their own wrestlers.

2007 Wrestling All-Southern Conference Team
125 Javier Maldonado, Chattanooga
133 Matt Keller, Chattanooga
141 Michael Keefe, Chattanooga
149 Aaron Martin, Chattanooga
157 Jake Yost, Chattanooga
165 T.J. Sayers, Chattanooga
174 Joe Lowe, UNC Greensboro
184 Josh Edmondson, Chattanooga
197 Corry Murray, VMI
285 Matt Koz, Chattanooga

SoCon Wrestler of the Year: Matt Keller, Chattanooga

          Live Stats
          Rss Feed
Upcoming Live Events on MocsVision