Seniors Josh Condon, Dean Pavlou, Niko Brown and Robert Prigmore.
Courtesy: Dale Rutemeyer
Mocs Celebrate Championship Season at the Wrestling Banquet

The University of Tennessee at Chattanooga wrestling team hosted its 2013 Postseason Banquet tonight.  The Mocs gathered at First Centenary Methodist Church next to the UTC campus to celebrate the team’s 27th Southern Conference Championship, as well as numerous other accomplishments from the 2012-13 season.

UTC finished the year with an 11-6 overall record and won the SoCon regular season title with a 7-0 mark in league play.  Chattanooga dominated the SoCon Tournament and sent five individuals to the NCAA Championships where it tied for 55th overall. 

Head coach Heath Eslinger handed out a number of postseason honors while also recognizing the 2013 senior class.  Sean Mappes (Greenwood, Ind.) took home the Freshman of the Year Award after going 6-2 in his rookie campaign.  He was 3-0 in dual matches and won a pair of SoCon bouts.   

Redshirt Freshman John Lampe (Fairdale, Ky.) earned the Pat Murphy Academic Award for his 4.0 cumulative grade-point-average.  An Education major, Lampe was 15-11 overall and 5-0 during the SoCon regular season. 

Junior Alex Hudson (Marietta, Ga.) was named Most Improved after winning the SoCon title at 149.  He was 16-7 overall, 10-7 overall and 6-0 in SoCon matches.  He won a match at the NCAA Championships and will lead a talented group of returners in 2014. 

Senior Dean Pavlou (Cleveland, Tenn.) took home the Ethan Reeve Workhorse after making his third appearance at the NCAA Championships.  He finished with a career best 24-14 overall record and a second place showing at the SoCon Championships at 141.

Senior Niko Brown (Kissimmee, Fla.) earned the Jim Morgan MVP Award after leading the team with a 30-5 overall record at 197.  He won the SoCon title and was a perfect 15-0 in dual matches during the regular season.

          Live Stats
          Rss Feed
Upcoming Live Events on MocsVision