Card Named Southern Conference Distinguished Service Award Winner
Card speaking at the groundbreaking of the Mocs Golf Player Development Complex.
CHARLESTON, S.C. - The Southern Conference announced the 12 recipients of the league's 2011 Distinguished Service Award today.  The Mocs were represented in the group by longtime supporter Lewie Card. 

Each member institution selected an honoree based on that person's contribution to the institution. Each award winner will be honored for their contributions at the SoCon Honors Dinner in Charleston, S.C., on June 1.

The Distinguished Service Award program was started in 2002 as a way for the Southern Conference to recognize those individuals from its member institutions who have contributed to all aspects of the university.

"Lewie is certainly deserving of this honor and I am thankful to the Southern Conference for recognizing the support he provides to our program," stated Director of Athletics Rick Hart.  "He continues to help with some of our biggest projects, including the ongoing fundraising for the Golf Player Development Complex.  He is a leader among our boosters and we are very fortunate to have him on our team."    

Card serves as a leader and volunteer for a number of Chattanooga area charitable organizations and the Mocs have topped his list of important endeavors for many years. Card is the vice-chairman/secretary of the Card-Monroe Corporation in Hixson, Tenn. Over the past four years, he has served on the Campaign Leadership Committee, a strong volunteer team spearheading UTC's $65 million comprehensive fundraising effort which achieved the goal last year.

As a campaign leader, much of Card's work focused on the planning, implementation and fundraising for the UTC men's and women's golf Player Development Complex. For more than a decade, he also has served on the Board of Trustees of the University of Chattanooga Foundation and was most recently as a member of the Executive Committee.

Along with Card, this year's honorees include Mark Harrill (Appalachian State), Tomi Youngblood (College of Charleston), Jesse B. Jackson (The Citadel), Ben T. Vernon, Jr. (Davidson), Dr. and Mrs. W. Bryan Latham (Elon), Ray and Pat Ballew (Furman), Ted S. Smith (Georgia Southern), Lynne Agee (UNCG), Michael Rice (Samford), Kevin and Lynn Stanberry (Western Carolina) and Harry Pinkney Williams, Jr. (Wofford).

          Live Stats
          Rss Feed
Upcoming Live Events on MocsVision