Join us as we celebrate the legacy of Chamberlain Field and Stadium with the dedication of the new Chamberlain Pavilion on Saturday morning, October 12, 10:00 a.m. (E.D.T.) This event is free and open to the campus community and the public.
Reflecting the architecture of the former stadium and incorporating building elements from the original structure, Chamberlain Pavilion pays tribute to our winning traditions and stands as a beautiful new gateway to our new library.
Former chancellors, athletics directors, players, band members, cheerleaders, and members of the Chamberlain Family will join together as we remember our heritage and embrace our future.
Chamberlain Field served as the Mocs’ home for football for 86 seasons. It was given the name Chamberlain Field in honor of Captain Hiram S. Chamberlain, president of the board of trustees.
The Stadium officially opened on Oct. 17, 1908, as Chattanooga shut out Athens School of the University 11-0. Over the years, the program posted 16 undefeated home seasons. The Mocs closed the stadium on Oct. 4, 1997, with a 20-17 win over Wofford. UTC left Chamberlain with an all-time record of 301-133-25, a winning percentage of .683.
Chamberlain Field’s historic past was as storied as many of the great players that displayed their talents at the scenic stadium. Come out to the dedication on Saturday and see how its memory will be honored on the UTC campus.