Vieira Earns Second Team All-SoCon Recognition
Junior Roberto Vieira
University of Tennessee at Chattanooga junior men's tennis player Roberto Vieira was named Second Team All-Southern Conference by the league office today.  A native of Bedfordview, South Africa, Vieira has been on the All-SoCon squad in each of his three seasons at UTC. 

After making the first team as a freshman and sophomore, Vieira was slowed for a part of 2012 with a foot injury.  He still managed a 14-11 overall record and was 10-7 at No. 1, despite missing four matches.  He also had a 13-9 doubles record and is the first Moc to earn three All-SoCon honors since the league began handing out the awards in 1990. 

Vieira led the Mocs to a 13-8 mark in dual matches, their most wins since 2007.  Chattanooga went 4-6 in league matches, also its best showing since 2007. 

The Mocs are the No. 9 seed for the upcoming SoCon Tournament in Charleston, S.C.  UTC takes on Davidson at 9:00 a.m. (E.D.T.) on Thursday, April 19, at The Citadel.  A link for live scoring is available on the men's tennis schedule page on 

2012 SoCon Men's Tennis Postseason Awards
First Team - Singles
Mickael Trintignac, College of Charleston
David Orces, The Citadel
Cameron Silverman, Elon
Andrew Mellow, Furman
Orcun Seyrek, UNCG
Zac Dunkle, Samford

First Team - Doubles
Mickael Trintignac/Kyle Parker, CofC
Cameron Silverman/Eric Turner, Elon
Orcun Seyrek/Ahmet Sarioglu, UNCG

Second Team - Singles (by position)
No. 1 - Roberto Vieira, Chattanooga
No. 2 - Ahmet Sarioglu, UNCG
No. 3 - Elliot Barnwell, Samford
No. 4 - Crescente Lesser, College of Charleston
No. 5 - Alexander Sajonz, Samford
No. 6 - Matt Saltsgaver, Appalachian State

Second Team - Doubles (by position)
No. 1 - Sebastien King/Philip Kloc, ASU
No. 2 - Alain Humblet/Alex Markov, ASU
No. 3 - Fernando Costa/Carson Kadi, Samford

Alon Faiman, CofC
Nicky Kunz, Davidson
Stefan Fortmann, Elon
Jordan Kaufman, Elon
Randy Phillips, UNCG
Rob Galloway, Wofford

Player of the Year
Orcun Seyrek, UNCG

Freshman of the Year
Stefan Fortmann, Elon

Don Bunch/Buddy Hartsell Sportsmanship Award
Alain Humblet, Appalachian State

Coach of the Year
Jay Bruner, College of Charleston

          Live Stats
          Rss Feed
Upcoming Live Events on MocsVision