Newberry Named To Stellar Spikes Team
CHATTANOOGA, Tenn. --- Add another accomplishment to the already impressive resume for Chattanooga volleyball player Lara Newberry. On Thursday the senior was named to the Stellar Spikes First Team by Collegiate Volleyball Update.

First and Second-Team selections were formed around the idea of building a team with a starting lineup of seven players and then two players per starting slot were chosen to fill out each team.

This season the Chattanooga, Tenn., native finished with 777 digs on the year, averaging 6.76 digs per set to lead the NCAA in digs per set and in the process, breaking the NCAA all-time career digs mark.

Coming into the season with 2,399 digs, Newberry needed only 393 to break the record set by Minnesotas Paula Gentile (2002-05). On Oct. 8 the libero eclipsed the mark with her 15th dig of the match in a 3-0 loss to Samford.

Newberry would go on to smash the record, ending her illustrious career with 3,176 career digs. The libero now holds both the record for digs in a career and in a single season (942), which she accomplished during the 2007 season.

Already the senior had received several awards for her accomplishments on the court as she was tabbed the Southern Conferences Libero of the Year, as well as being named All-Southern Conference First team. Newberry was also tabbed an Honorable Mention for the AVCA All-South Region team. Stellar Spikers First Team

Cynthia Barboza  OH      Sr.     Stanford        Pac-10
Hana Cutura      OH      Jr.     California      Pac-10
Nicole Fawcett   OH      Sr.     Penn State      Big Ten
Destinee Hooker  OH      Jr.     Texas   Big 12
Yarimar Rosa     OH      Jr.     FIU     Sun Belt
Julie Rubenstein OH      Sr.     Pepperdine      WCC
Foluke Akinradewo        MB      Sr.     Stanford        Pac-10
Christa Harmotto MB      Sr.     Penn State      Big Ten
Danielle Hepburn MB      Sr.     Clemson ACC
Stephanie Lynch  MB      Sr.     Purdue  Big Ten
Lara Newberry    L       Sr.     Chattanooga     Southern
Brittany Stowers L       So.     Northern Arizona        Big Sky
Alisha Glass     S       Sr.     Penn State      Big Ten
Kaylee Manns     S       Jr.     Iowa State      Big 12 Stellar Spikers Second Team
Ashley Adams     OH      Sr.     Samford Southern
Amy DeGroot      OH      Jr.     San Diego       WCC
Megan Hodge      OH      Jr.     Penn State      Big Ten
Jordan Larson    OH      Sr.     Nebraska        Big 12
Sammi McCloud    OH      Jr.     Saint Louis     Atlantic 10
Emily Stockman   OH      Jr.     Wichita State   MVC
Ashley Asberry   MB      Sr.     Middle Tennessee        Sun Belt
Mekana Barnes    MB      Sr.     Colorado State  Mountain West
Lauren Gibbemeyer        MB      So.     Minnesota       Big Ten
Arielle Wilson   MB      So.     Penn State      Big Ten
Shelley Walroth  L       Jr.     Jacksonville    Atlantic Sun
Kelly Broussard  L       Sr.     Wichita State   MVC
Carli Lloyd      S       So.     California      Pac-10
Meredith Schamun S       So.     Rice    Conference USA Stellar Spikers Honorable Mention

Sydney Anderson  S       So.     Nebraska        Big 12
Nevena Djordjevic        S       Jr.     Oregon  Pac-10
Jenna Hagglund   S       So.     Washington      Pac-10
Mary Elizabeth Hooper    S       Fr.     Wichita State   MVC
Michelle Kocher  S       Fr.     Texas   Big 12
Wioleta Leszczynska      S       Sr.     St. John's      Big East
Jillian Mitchell S       Jr.     Western Michigan        Mid American
Kelsey Murphy    S       Jr.     Clemson ACC
Whitney Roth     S       Jr.     Saint Louis     Atlantic 10
Sarah Rumely     S       Jr.     Kentucky        SEC
Nellie Spicer    S       Sr.     UCLA    Pac-10
Lexi Zimmerman   S       So.     Michigan        Big Ten
Kelly Murphy     S/OH    Fr.     Florida SEC
Elena Martinez   L       Sr.     LSU     SEC
Ashley Mass      L       So.     Iowa State      Big 12
Tamari Miyashiro L       Jr.     Washington      Pac-10
Allison Nieters  L       So.     Iona    MAAC
Caitlin Strimel  L       Jr.     Western Michigan        Mid American
Amila Barakovic  OH      Sr.     UALR    Sun Belt
Jennifer Berwanger       OH      So.     Southern Illinois       MVC
Ivana Bozic      OH      Sr.     UAB     Conference USA
Lane Carico      OH      Fr.     Miami   ACC
Alix Daley       OH      Sr.     UCLA    Pac-10
Emily Day        OH      Sr.     Loyola Marymount        WCC
Laura DeBruler   OH      So.     Illinois        Big Ten
Brook Dieter     OH      So.     Minnesota       Big Ten
Ashley Engle     OH      Jr.     Texas   Big 12
Nikki Fowler     OH      Fr.     Tennessee       SEC
Ellen Herman     OH      Jr.     Ohio    Mid American
Hayley Hills     OH      Jr.     Eastern Washington      Big Sky
Alix Klineman    OH      So.     Stanford        Pac-10
Ivana Kujundzic  OH      Jr.     South Carolina  SEC
Gorana Maricic   OH      Sr.     Oregon  Pac-10
Brittany Moore   OH      Sr.     Cal State Fullerton     Big West
Karyn Morgan     OH      Sr.     Rice    Conference USA
Tara Mueller     OH      So.     Nebraska        Big 12
Sonja Newcombe   OH      Jr.     Oregon  Pac-10
Angie Porche     OH      Jr.     Valparaiso      Horizon
Sara Radosevic   OH      Sr.     Tulane  Conference USA
Katie Sanders    OH      Jr.     Baylor  Big 12
Rubena Sukaj     OH      Sr.     American        Patriot
Burgandy McCurty MH      Jr.     Siena   MAAC
Lori Baird       MB      Sr.     Utah    Mountain West
Ashley Benson    MB      So.     Indiana Big Ten
Anna Breyfogle   MB      Jr.     Baylor  Big 12
Lucy Charuk      MB      So.     Houston Conference USA
Elyse Chubb      MB      Fr.     Coll. of Charleston     Southern
Brittnee Cooper  MB      Jr.     LSU     SEC
Neticia Enesi    MB      Jr.     Oregon  Pac-10
Amanda Gil       MB      Fr.     UCLA    Pac-10
Jaclyn Houston   MB      Sr.     Cal Poly        Big West
Jessica Houts    MB      Jr.     Creighton       MVC
Alex Kelly       MB      So.     Lipscomb        Atlantic Sun
Vanessa King     MB      Jr.     Michigan State  Big Ten
Jessie Nevitt    MB      Sr.     Cincinnati      Big East
Jourdan Norman   MB      Sr.     Duke    ACC
Amber Simpson    MB      Sr.     New Mexico State        WAC
Ashten Stelken   MB      Sr.     Northern Iowa   MVC
Jessica Swarbrick        MB      Sr.     Washington      Pac-10
Emillie Toone    MB      Sr.     Utah    Mountain West

This week's #TBT looks through some old shots of the volleyball program.
This week's "Junk Drawer" #TBT photo gallery focuses on a stack of shots we found of the Mocs volleyball program. As you have seen with past...  MORE
Volleyball announces the addition of Darin VanHorn to the coaching staff as an assistant. He comes from Virginia after working with Penn State as an...  MORE
Virginia Gatorade Player of the Year Ally Ford.
Volleyball's 2015 recruiting class is lauded as one of the nation's best by  MORE
Volleyball Head Coach Travis Filar announces the addition of setter Madison Bergren to the 2015 roster. Madison transfers from UT Martin with three...  MORE
Head coach Travis Filar and the Chattanooga Mocs volleyball team wrapped up their 2014-15 fall season with a 13-19 overall record, and a 6-10 finish...  MORE
          Live Stats
          Rss Feed
Upcoming Live Events on MocsVision