Seeds are Set as Mocs Look Toward SoCon Tournament
Junior Nicchaeus Doaks led the Mocs to a North Division Championship and the No. 2 Seed in the upcoming SoCon Championship.



CHATTANOOGA, Tenn.---With one game left in Southern Conference play, Monday night’s matchup between Western Carolina and UNC Greensboro is not going to have any effect on the seeding for the upcoming SoCon Tournament in North Charleston, S.C.  With its win over Elon Saturday, Chattanooga (18-12/13-7) captured the North Division by tiebreaker over Appalachian State and the No. 2 seed.


“I could not be more excited for our basketball team” said Head Coach John Shulman.  “We battled through a lot of adversity to get to this point and really earned what we have.


“We are not the only team with championship aspirations,” added Shulman.  “There are a number of teams with legitimate dreams, but you have to say the road runs through Davidson.”


The Mocs claimed a thrilling 57-56 win at Elon on a clutch three-pointer with just over 30 seconds remaining by junior Nicchaeus Doaks.  The seventh-seeded Phoenix are favored for a rematch with Chattanooga in its first-round contest with the No. 10 seed Furman on Friday, March 7, at 5:15 p.m.  The winner of that contest faces the Mocs on Saturday at 7 p.m.




1:  Davidson (23-6/20-0)

2:  CHATTANOOGA (18-12/13-7)

3:  Georgia Southern (20-11/13-7)

4:  Appalachian State (18-12/13-7)

5:  UNC Greensboro (17-11/11-8)*

6:  College of Charleston (14-16/9-11)

7:  Elon (11-18/9-11)

8:  Wofford (15-15/8-12)

9:  Western Carolina (10-19/6-13)*

10:  Furman (7-22/6-14)

11:  The Citadel (6-23/1-19)

*Western Carolina at UNC Greensboro, Monday, March 3



In 31 years, the Mocs have won or shared a championship in 17 seasons.


1980-81:  Regular Season Co-Champions/Tournament Champion

1981-82:  Regular Season and Tournament Champion

1982-83:  Regular Season and Tournament Champion

1984-85:  Regular Season Champion

1985-86:  Regular Season Champion

1987-88:  Tournament Champion

1988-89:  Regular Season Champion

1990-91:  Regular Season Co-Champion

1991-92:  Regular Season Co-Champion

1992-93:  Regular Season and Tournament Champion

1993-94:  Regular Season and Tournament Champion

1994-95:  South Division Champion/Tournament Champion

1996-97:  South Division Champion/Tournament Champion

1997-98:  South Division Champion

2001-02:  South Division Co-Champion

2004-05:  North Division Champion/Tournament Champion

2007-08:  North Division Co-Champion
          Live Stats
          Rss Feed
Upcoming Live Events on MocsVision