Doaks, McDowell Earn All-Conference Accolades

CHATTANOOGA, Tenn.---The Southern Conference coaches named Nicchaeus Doaks and Stephen McDowell to its 10-member all-conference squad announced by the conference office on Thursday.  It is the second honor this week as the media named the duo to its second team.


McDowell led the Mocs averaging 14.5 points per game.  He is among the nation’s leaders in three-pointers made per game (15th, 3.5 per game), while ranking second in the SoCon.  He is sixth in the league in scoring (14.5 ppg) and 11th in steals (1.3 spg).


Doaks is second on the Mocs in scoring, 14.2 points per game, and eighth in the league.  He is second in the SoCon in field goal percentage (58.6%), while ranking 22nd in the country in that stat.  UTC’s rebounding leader at 7.1 per game, he ranks fifth in the conference, while also registering sixth in blocked shots (1.2 bpg).


Davidson’s Stephen Curry was named the Player of the Year, while The Citadel’s Cameron Wells earned Freshman of the Year honors.  Davidson’s Bob McKillop was named the Coach of the Year.


SoCon Coaches All-Conference Team

(voting by 11 head coaches coach not permitted to vote for own player)


Stephen Curry, Davidson (Player of the Year)

Kyle Hines, UNC Greensboro

Louis Graham, Georgia Southern

Jason Richards, Davidson

Donte Minter, Appalachian State



Drew Gibson, Wofford

Brandon Giles, Western Carolina

Brett James, Elon



Cameron Wells, The Citadel (Freshman of the Year)

Andrew Goudelock, College of Charleston

Donald Sims, Appalachian State

Willie Powers, Georgia Southern

Austin Dahn, The Citadel

          Live Stats
          Rss Feed
Upcoming Live Events on MocsVision