Christopher, Hood, Hall Named All-Conference
SPARTANBURG, S.C. --- The University of Tennessee at Chattanooga secured three spots in the 10-member 2012 Southern Conference Coaches' All-Conference Team. Senior Whitney Hood (Meridian, Miss.), junior Kayla Christopher (Oliver Springs, Tenn.) and sophomore Taylor Hall (New Tazewell, Tenn.) were each named to the team. This is the second straight selection for Hood and Christopher and the first for Hall.

Hood led the Lady Mocs in scoring and is sixth in the league with 13 points per game and leads the conference in field goal percentage making 49.7 percent of her shots. She is 12th on the team in rebounding with 5.6 per game and seventh in the league from the free throw line making 78.1 percent of her shots.

Christopher, a workhorse for the team, is sixth in the league for playing time averaging a team-high 31.6 minutes per game. She has a team-high 46 3-pointers (5th-SoCon) and climbed to fifth on the Lady Mocs all-time charts in that category with 165 over her three years. From the field, Christopher ranks among the SoCon leaders averaging 42.6 percent in field goals (11th-SoCon) and 36.8 from beyond the arc (7th-SoCon). She also shares the load dishing out 2.4 assists per game, 13th in the league standings.

Hall, playing her first full season with the Lady Mocs, is second in the SoCon in rebounding with 8.7 boards per game. She is second in the league on the defensive boards pulling down 6.3 per game and is fifth on the offensive end snaring 2.4 per game. Hall is third on the team in scoring with 8.8 points per game, finishing the season strong with a combined eight 3-pointers over two games and a career-high 24 points against Appalachian State in the finale.

Davidson's Michele Savage was selected the league's Coach of the Year by her peers and Wildcat junior Sophia Aleksandravicius was named the conference Player of the Year. She also was tabbed the league's Defensive Player of the Year and Furman's Brittany Hodges was named the Freshman of the Year.

Aleksandravicius finished the regular season leading the league in rebounds (9.1 rpg), blocked shots (3.1), defensive rebounds (6.8) and finished third in scoring (13.7 ppg). The Pound Ridge, NY native was also named the Preseason Player of the Year.

Savage, in her second year at the helm, was honored by the league's coaches. She helped Davidson to a 21-8 (17-3 SoCon) season and the program's first ever regular season title and a No.1 seed in the conference tournament. The Wildcats shared the regular season title with Appalachian State, who also finished 17-3 in league play.

Hodges was the league's top-scoring freshman, averaging 10 points per game. The freshman forward started 26-of-29 games for Furman and was the Paladins leading scorer and rebounder.

Aleksandravicius was joined by teammate sophomore Laura Murray. Appalachian State placed two on the All-Conference team with juniors Anna Freeman and Courtney Freeman. All earning All-SoCon honors were Elon junior Ali Ford, Samford senior Paige Anderson and Western Carolina senior Kaila'Shea Menendez.

Hodges, who also earned a spot on the All-Freshmen team was joined by Appalachian State's Maryah Sydnor, Elon's Sam Coffer, Samford's Taylor Reece and Western Carolina's Ali Lane.

Lashana Booker of Furman, a senior forward from Spartanburg, S.C., was named the recipient of the Ann Lashley Inspiration Award. This award honors a student-athlete or coach who has shown outstanding courage or service. It is presented in memory of former Elon women's basketball associate head coach Ann Lashley, who passed away on November 10, 2005 after a six-month battle with Non-Hodgkins Lymphoma.

Booker suffered through two season-ending injuries in back-to-back seasons. She was determined to return to playing form. In Furman's first game of the season, Book poured in 29 points against Charleston Southern, earning her SoCon Player of the Week honors. She has been the only player for the Paladins to start in every game this season.

The 2012 Southern Conference Women's Basketball Tournament begins Friday, March 2 at 11:30 a.m. at Kimmel Arena in Asheville, N.C. The championship game is scheduled for Monday, March 5 at 5:00 p.m.

2012 SoCon Women's Basketball Awards

All-Conference Team
Anna Freeman, Appalachian State
Courtney Freeman, Appalachian State
Sophia Aleksandravicius, Davidson
Laura Murray, Davidson
Ali Ford, Elon
Paige Anderson, Samford
Whitney Hood, Chattanooga
Kayla Christopher, Chattanooga
Taylor Hall, Chattanooga
Kaila'Shea Menendez, Western Carolina

All-Freshmen Team
Maryah Sydnor, Appalachian State
Sam Coffer, Elon
Brittany Hodges, Furman
Taylor Reece, Samford
Ali Lane, Western Carolina

Player of the Year
Sophia Aleksandravicius, Davidson

Defensive Player of the Year
Sophia Aleksandravicius, Davidson

Freshman of the Year
Brittany Hodges, Furman

Coach of the Year
Michele Savage, Davidson

          Live Stats
          Rss Feed
Upcoming Live Events on MocsVision