Cross Country Heads to SoCon Championships Saturday

The University of Tennessee at Chattanooga men's and women's cross country teams will travel to Boone, N.C., for the 2010 Southern Conference cross country championships.

Event         Southern Conference Championships

Date           Saturday, October 30, 2010

Location     Boone, N.C. • State Farm Field

Time          Women: 10:00 a.m. EDT; Men: 10:45 a.m. EDT

Distances   Women: 5K; Men: 8K


Since 1997 the Southern Conference has crowned only two schools champion of men's cross country. Appalachian State has won the title nine times, including the last five with Chattanooga winning four times including back-to-back titles in 1998 and 1999 and again in 2003 and 2004. Eight times, the Mocs have finished runner-up to the Mountaineers.

UTC Senior Emmanuel Kirwa, two-time SoCon Runner of the Year, holds the top time in the Southern Conference in the 8K with a time of 24:06.28 at the Greater Louisville Classic. Teammate Chris Berry is ranked fourth with a time of 24.28.22 in the same race. Davidson's Ryan Hopkins ranks second in the league standings  recording a time of 24:08.00 in the same event while UNCG's Joey Thompson ranks third overall with a time of 24:20.50. His teammate Mike Koech is fifth on the charts while Appalachian State's top runner is Sean Soderman in sixth place. Rounding out the top 10 in the SoCon standings are Davidson's Charlie Schmitt, Josey Weaver of Western Carolina, Justin Gianni of Elon and UNCG's AJ Savoi.

On the women's side, the Lady Mocs have won seven league titles since 1997 including three straight from 2006-08. Over that same time, the Lady Mocs have finished second twice and third one time.

UTC senior Anneli Uys is ranked fourth among the league runners with a time of 17:49.27 at the Greater Louisville Classic. Samford's Lauren D'Alessio holds the SoCon's best time in the 5K with a 17:33.40 at the Crimson Classic. Teammate Hilary Neal is ranked third in the league with a time of 17:39.58 achieved at the Brooks Memphis Twilight. UNC Greensboro's Ashley Schnell posted a time of 17:37.07, second best in the league while College of Charleston's Dena O'Brien ranks fifth with a time of 17:53.10. Rounding out the top 10 in the 5K are Brittany Caudle of Appalachian State, UNCG's Shaina Sumney and Kerry Hartman followed by Furman's Brooke Mosteller and Morgan Turner of Western Carolina.

The UTC men's cross country program will add five new faces to its program this fall. The Mocs add four freshmen and a transfer to the roster that...  MORE
John Gilpin took first in the men's 10K at the annual Riverbend Road Race. Lucas Cotter won the men's 5K while Keeley Stewart took first in the...  MORE
UTC cross country and track and field student-athletes John Gilpin and Patrick O'Brien were selected to the CoSIDA Capital One Academic All-District...  MORE
Hall of Famer Lanni Marchant.
She traded in her ice skates for running shoes and her passion for the sport continues long after her collegiate days came to an end.  MORE
Senior John Gilpin posted a 4.0 GPA in the fall and led the men's cross country team on the field
The UTC men's and women's cross country teams were ranked in the Top 10 for highest GPAs the United States Track and Field and Cross Country Coaches...  MORE
          Live Stats
          Rss Feed
Upcoming Live Events on MocsVision