Berry to Compete at Cross Country NCAA Nationals

CHATTANOOGA, Tenn. --- University of Tennessee at Chattanooga distance runner Chris Berry (Murfreesboro, Tenn.) will make the trip to Terre Haute, Ind., Monday with UTC cross country head coach Bill Gautier for the NCAA National Championships to be held at the Gibson Championship Course and hosted by Indiana State University.

The course will cover 10-kilometers. Berry ran a time of 31:24.9 in the 10K in the NCAA Region meet at the Harry Pritchett Course in Tuscaloosa, Ala., on Nov. 12. Berry is a four-time Southern Conference cross country all-conference performer and was the 2007 men's Freshman of the Year. He placed fourth this year at the league championships and earned all-region honors with an eighth place finish at the Region Championships.

Berry is the fifth UTC men's individual runner to qualify for the NCAA Nationals. He joins teammate Emmanuel Kirwa (2010), Ian Mayne (2005), Steven Kocsis (2003, 2004) and Gediminas Banevicius (2002) along with the men's cross country team who won the NCAA South Region earning an automatic team qualification. Amanda Lynch was the first UTC women's student-athlete to qualify for the championships and did so in 1998, along with the men's team and again in 1999. She is joined in the women's column by All-American Shannon Wommack (2002, 2004, 2005) as well as Kathleen Turchin (2004) and Lanni Marhcant (2006).

Thirty-one teams were selected to participate in each championship. The top two seven-person teams automatically qualified from each of the nine regions for a total of 18 teams with an additional 13 teams selected at-large. In addition, 38 individuals were selected to participate in each championship through an automatic qualifier and at-large selection process. All individual qualifiers finished in the top 25 in their region.

Indiana State will host the Championships Monday on the LaVern Gibson Championship Course located at the Wabash Valley Family Sports Center. The men's race will begin at approximately 12:08 p.m. (ET) followed by the women's race at approximately 12:58 p.m. (ET).

A live webcast of the championships will be broadcast from noon to 1:30 p.m. (ET) on In addition, highlights from the championships will be included as part of the CBS NCAA Fall Seasonal Show scheduled to air on Saturday, Dec. 18, from 1-2 p.m. (ET) on CBS HD.

Men's automatically qualifying teams include: Brigham Young, Colorado, Eastern Kentucky, Florida, Florida State, Georgetown, Indiana, Iona, North Carolina State, Oklahoma, two-time defending champion Oklahoma State, Portland, Stanford, Syracuse, Texas, Texas A&M, Villanova, and Wisconsin.

Men's at-large teams include: Cal Poly, Columbia, Georgia, Michigan, Minnesota, New Mexico, Northern Arizona, Notre Dame, Ohio State, Princeton, Tulsa, and Washington State.

The Lavern Gibson Championship Cross Country Course was designed for the sole purpose of Cross Country. Located just outside of Terre Haute, Indiana-- It is "one of the most spectator friendly distance running courses in the world".

Lavern Gibson Course Policies
Last Updated - October 06, 2011
• Plan to arrive at least 1 to 1.5 hours ahead of the start of the meet.
• There are 3 entrances to help get you swiftly into the course.
• No pets are allowed.
• No bikes (touring, mountain, motorized, etc.) or motorized vehicles are allowed on the course at any time by spectators.

          Live Stats
          Rss Feed
Upcoming Live Events on MocsVision