Men's Cross Country Picked 3rd, Women 8th in Poll

SPARTANBURG, S.C. --- The University of Tennessee at Chattanooga men’s cross country team received two first place votes and was selected by the league coaches to finish third in the Southern Conference while the women were picked to finish eighth.

The men, runners-up last season, received 65 points in the poll and a pair of first place votes behind Furman (2) and UNCG (6) who tied for the top spot with 73 points.

Returning to the lineup this season for the Mocs is senior all-conference performer Lucas Cotter (Collierville, Tenn.) and classmates Mark Cole (McKenzie, Tenn.) and John Gilpin (Nashville, Ten.) along with junior Patrick O’Brien (Chattanooga, Tenn.). Sophomore Trevor Janssen (Jordan Station, Ontario), the reigning SoCon Freshman of the Year and All-Freshman team member Paul Stuart (Brentwood, Tenn.)  lead a strong core of classmates Zack Darby (Knoxville, Tenn.), Austin Ethridge (Signal Mountain, Tenn.), Taylor Hawk (Newport, Tenn.) and Matthew Marshall (Signal Mountain, Tenn.).

Defending SoCon Champion Appalachian State was picked to finish fourth followed by Davidson, Samford and Western Carolina. Elon was picked eighth followed by The Citadel and Wofford in the final spot.

The women return all-conference performer Amanda Cotter (Bristol, Conn.) and all-freshman finisher Teghan Henderson (Pickering, Ontario). Junior Rebecca Greenwall (Bogart, Ga.) will line up this season for the Lady Mocs and will be joined by returners Helenka Kis (Columbia, Tenn.) and Keeley Stewart (Winchester, Tenn.).

A slew of freshmen will fill out the roster including Hannah Chamblin (Memphis, Tenn.), Anna Kate Chance (Columbia, Tenn.), Joanna Elmore (Clarksville, Tenn.), Madalyn Garland (Evensville, Tenn.), Maddison Melchionna (Afton, Tenn.), Katie Ray (Knoxville, Tenn.), Chandler Rogers (Loudon, Tenn.), Molly Smith (Kingsport, Tenn.) and Jessica York (Normandy, Tenn.).

Elon received five first place votes and 93 points for first followed by Furman with 86 points and four first place votes. Samford was selected third followed by Appalachian State while UNCG, with the remaining two first place votes, finished fifth in the poll with 61 points. Davidson was sixth followed by Western Carolina, the Lady Mocs, Wofford (9th), Georgia Southern (10th) and The Citadel.

The season begins August 30, with eight SoCon teams in action. The 2013 SoCon Championship will be held in Birmingham, Ala., on November 2.

          Live Stats
          Rss Feed
Upcoming Live Events on MocsVision