spacer   My Account for spacer

DANIEL ISLAND, S.C. --- The Chattanooga Mocs and senior Stephan Jaeger (Munich, Germany) ran away with the 2012 Southern Conference Championship on Ralston Creek Course Tuesday. UTC shot three-under par 861 to win by 19 shots, the largest margin of victory since ETSU won by the same amount at the 2001 event at Chattanooga Golf and Country Club.

Jaeger won by an astounding 11 strokes which ties the SoCon record with Brad Faxon (Furman) in 1983. He is just the second Chattanooga golfer all-time (Donnie Green - 1978) to capture medalist honors.

The Ben Hogan Award candidate shot rounds of 66, 72 and 69 for the record win. It's his third collegiate title tying the school record held by Jonathan Hodge (2006-09) and Bryce Ledford (2004-07). Jaeger earned SoCon Golfer of the Year for the third straight year. He is the only student-athlete in league history to win the award three times.

It was a great team effort. The Mocs posted four players in the top 10. Chris Robb (Aberdeenshire, Scotland) tied for second at 218, two-over par. Steven Fox (Hendersonville, Tenn.) tied for fourth at 219 (+3), while Liam Johnston (Dumfries, Scotland) was another shot back tied for 10th at plus four (220).

The team score of 281, seven-under par, today include four cards that were under par. Jaeger's 69 led the way followed by Fox's 70, while Robb and Johnston each fired 71's. Benni Weilguni (Langenlois, Austria) had the drop with a 75 to end up tied for 27th at 226.

Head Coach Mark Guhne won his fourth SoCon Coach of the Year award. He previously won it in 2006, 2007 and 2008. It's the fourth time he's led his charges to the league title. Jaeger and Fox were named to the all-conference team, the fourth such honor for Jaeger and second for Fox.

The Mocs await the May 7 announcement of their NCAA Regional site. It is the sixth straight regional berth for the program that had not advanced in its history prior to 2007.

Southern Conference Championship
April 15-17, 2012 • Ralston Creek Course • Daniel Island, S.C.

1) Chattanooga


861 (-3)

2) Georgia Southern


880 (+16)

3) College of Charleston


882 (+18)

4) Wofford


887 (+23)

5) Samford


889 (+25)

6) Furman


897 (+33)

tie) Appalachian State


897 (+33)

8) Elon


905 (+41)

9) Davidson


908 (+42)

10) Western Carolina


914 (+50)

11) UNCG


917 (+53)



1) Stephan Jaeger


207 (-9)

T2) Chris Robb


218 (+2)

T4) Steven Fox


219 (+3)

T10) Liam Johnston


220 (+4)

T27) Benni Weilguni


226 (+10)

All-Conference Team|
Casey Komline, Appalachian State
Richard Fountain, Davidson
John Skeadas, Davidson
Austin Reeves, Furman
Lewis Gruber, Georgia Southern
Scott Wolfes, Georgia Southern
Drew Aimone, Samford
Casey O'Toole, Samford
Steven Fox, Chattanooga
Stephan Jaeger, Chattanooga 

All-Freshman Team
Shane Rogan, College of Charleston
Zach Hartman, Georgia Southern
Scott Wolfes, Georgia Southern
Alex Ehlert, UNCG
JT Poston, Western Carolina 

Player of the Year
Stephan Jaeger, Chattanooga

Freshman of the Year
Scott Wolfes, Georgia Southern 

Coach of the Year
Mark Guhne, Chattanooga is the official website of the Chattanooga Mocs.  The Mocs can also be followed on their official Facebook page,, or on Twitter,  Find out how to join the UTC Mocs Club and support more than 300 student-athletes by clicking here.

Returning Customers
Tickets, MocsVision users or returning customers, please login here.
Login/eMail Address


Forgot your Login?
New Customer
Set up a New Customer account for quick and easy online shopping and/or camp & event registration.

With your account you can easily track and manage your orders, update your information and more.